Skip Navigation

School Accolades

School Accolades

Chad Boult, MD, MPH, MBAChad Boult, MD, MPH, MBA, director, Roger C. Lipitz Center for Integrated Health Care, and the Eugene and Mildred Lipitz Professor in Health Care Policy, Health Policy and Management (HPM), has been awarded a Health and Aging Policy Fellowship, funded by The Atlantic Philanthropies. (See "Frontiers of Public Health.") He also will receive the 2009 Medical Economics Award for Innovation in Practice Improvement co-sponsored by the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, the American Academy of Family Physicians, and Medical Economics magazine.

Diane Griffin, MD, PhD

Diane Griffin, MD, PhD, Alfred and Jill Sommer Professor and Chair in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, was named the recipient of the 2009 Pioneer in Neurovirology Award by the International Society for Neurovirology.

Bernard Guyer, MD, MPH, Zanvyl Krieger Professor of Children’s Health, in the Department of Population, Family and Reproductive Health, received the David Rall Medal from the Institute of Medicine for outstanding service as chair of the Board on Children, Youth and Families. He also was named the 2009 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Coalition for Excellence in MCH Epidemiology.

Thomas Hartung, MD, PhDThomas Hartung, MD, PhD, the Doerenkamp-Zbinden Professor and Chair for Evidence-Based Toxicology, is the 2009 recipient of the Russell and Burch Award, offered by the Humane Society of the United States.

Rafael Irizarry, PhDRafael Irizarry, PhD, professor, Biostatistics, was named the 2009 Presidents’ Award recipient by the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS) and was named a fellow of the American Statistical Association. The Presidents’ Award honors early career contributions and is offered jointly by the five major statistical societies comprising COPSS. Irizarry also was recognized by ScienceWatch as one of the world’s most cited researchers of the last decade.

Hee-Soon Juon, PhDHee-Soon Juon, PhD, associate professor, Health, Behavior and Society (HBS), served as organizing committee co-chair of the second biennial Global Breast Cancer Conference (GBCC) 2009 in Seoul, Korea, in October. Debra Roter, DrPH ’77, MPH ’75, professor, HBS, and Janice Bowie, PhD ’97, MPH, associate professor, HBS, served as members of the GBCC International Steering Committee and were invited speakers.

The Board on Children, Youth and Families of the National Research Council and Institute of Medicine, chaired by Robert Lawrence, MD, the Center for a Livable Future Professor, Environmental Health Sciences, was named the recipient of the Society for Adolescent Medicine’s 2010 Hilary Millar Award for Innovative Approaches to Adolescent Health Care, to be awarded in the spring. Lawrence was also chosen by his colleagues to receive the 2009 Sedgwick Memorial Medal for Distinguished Service in Public Health, on behalf of APHA.

Silvia Martins, MD, PhD, assistant scientist, Mental Health, was elected a member of the American Psychopathological Association and of the Epidemiology Section of the World Psychiatric Association. Martins recently became associate editor of BMC Public Health.

Adnan Hyder, MD, PhD ’98, MPH ’93Jean B. Nachega, MD, MPH ’99, associate scientist, International Health, was recently appointed an Honorary Professor in the Department of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Cape Town in South Africa.

Myaing Myaing Nyunt, MD, PhD, assistant professor, International Health, received a Faculty Development Award from the PhRMA Foundation.

David Peters, MD, DrPH ’93, associate professor, International Health, was elected the director of the Health Systems Program in the Department.

Jason Rasgon, PhD, assistant professor, MMI, was named a 2009 Innovator of the Year by The Daily Record (Maryland).

George Rebok, PhD, professor, Mental Health, has been selected to be the 2009 Gary Andrews Visiting Fellow for the Australian Association of Gerontology.

Noel Rose, MD, PhD, professor, MMI, was awarded the Nicolaus Copernicus Medal by the Polish Academy of Sciences. The award is the Academy’s highest honor.

David Sack, MD, professor, and Alain Labrique, PhD ’07, MHS ’99, assistant professor, both of International Health, received a Technology Transfer SEED Award.

Daniel Scharfstein, ScD, professor, Biostatistics, was named a fellow of the American Statistical Association.

Keerti Shah, MD, DrPHKeerti Shah, MD, DrPH, professor, MMI, was recognized by ScienceWatch as one of the world’s most cited researchers of the last decade.

Donald Steinwachs, PhDDonald Steinwachs, PhD, professor, HPM, received the 2009 Carl Taube Award from Mental Health America for his numerous contributions to the field of mental health services research.

Donna Strobino, PhD, professor, PFRH, received the 2009 Excellence in Teaching Award from the Coalition for Excellence in MCH Epidemiology.

A paper co-authored by Elizabeth Stuart, PhD, assistant professor, Mental Health and Biostatistics, was named a 2009 “New Hot Paper” in the field of economics and business by ScienceWatch.

Youfa Wang, MD, PhD, associate professor, International Health, was elected chair of the Nutrition Epidemiology Section, American Society for Nutrition (ASN), and became an adjunct professor at both the School of Public Health, Peking University, and the School of Medicine, Xi’an Jiaotong University.

Keith West Jr., DrPH, MPH, professor, International Health, was elected the director of the Department’s Human Nutrition Program.

Horizontal Rule

David CelentanoDavid Celentano Named New Chair of Epidemiology

David Celentano, ScD ’77, MHS ’75, has been appointed chair of the Bloomberg School’s Department of Epidemiology. A longtime Epidemiology faculty member, Celentano is an internationally recognized scholar in the prevention of HIV and sexually transmitted infections. He is the principal investigator of four NIH-supported studies in Thailand, focusing on interventions that harness peer networks for risk reduction. Celentano is a fellow of the American College of Epidemiology and a member of the American Epidemiological Society. In 2006, he received an honorary doctorate from Chiang Mai University; it was conferred by Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn. Celentano will be officially installed as the new Epidemiology chair early next year.

design element
Online Extras

Expanding Mental Health Care

Expanding Mental Health Care

Researcher Laura Murray explains how inexpensive, effective, science-based care can be delivered where it’s needed most.

Watch Now

Talk to Us

Amazed? Enthralled? Disappointed? We want to hear from you. Share your thoughts on articles and your ideas for new stories:

Download the PDF

Get a copy of all Departments articles in PDF format. Read stories offline, optimized for printing.

Download Now (380KB)