Skip Navigation

School Accolades

School Accolades

Peter Agre, MDPeter Agre, MD, director of the Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute, professor, W. Harry Feinstone Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology (MMI), and Nobel laureate, began his one-year term as president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science on February 16. He also was awarded the “Annual Prize for Outstanding Contribution to Lung Research” by the Will Rogers Motion Picture Pioneers Foundation for his groundbreaking work in aquaporins and potential benefits to lung research.

Miriam Alexander, MD, MPH, assistant professor, Population, Family and Reproductive Health (PFRH), was named president of the American College of Preventive Medicine and will begin serving a two-year term on February 1, 2011.

Charles Boult, MD, MPH, MBACharles Boult, MD, MPH, MBA, director of the Roger C. Lipitz Center for Integrated Health Care, and the Eugene and Mildred Lipitz Professor in Health Care Policy, Health Policy and Management (HPM), received the 2008 UCLA David H. Solomon Award in recognition of his leadership in the field of geriatrics, and the 2008 Archstone Foundation Award for Excellence in Program Innovation by the Archstone Foundation and the Gerontological Health Section of the American Public Health Association for his work on Guided Care, a new model of comprehensive health care for people with multiple chronic conditions.

Josef Coresh, MD, PhD, MHS '92Josef Coresh, MD, PhD, MHS ’92, professor, Epi-demiology, was selected to serve as director of the George W. Comstock Center for Public Health Research and Prevention in Hagerstown, Md.

Britt Ehrhardt, an MHS student in International Health, was named a Luce Scholar for 2009–2010. The prestigious Luce award is endowed by the Henry Luce Foundation to promote American understanding of the Far East by supporting young professionals through a paid internship in the region.

Lynn Goldman, MD, MPHLynn Goldman, MD, MPH, professor, Environmental Health Sciences (EHS), has been selected as one of Maryland’s Top 100 Women of 2009 by The Daily Record in Baltimore, Md.

Elizabeth Golub, PhD ’01, MPH, assistant scientist, Epidemiology, was recognized by the CDC as co-investigator on two studies listed in their 2008 Compendium of Evidence-Based HIV Prevention Interventions.

Diane Griffin, MD, PhDDiane Griffin, MD, PhD, the Alfred and Jill Sommer Professor and Chair of MMI, was inducted into the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame on March 12.

Adnan Hyder, MD, PhD ’98, MPH ’93Adnan Hyder, MD, PhD ’98, MPH ’93, associate pro-fessor, International Health, and Mathuram Santosham, MD, MPH ’75, professor, International Health, were named Ambassadors in Research!America’s Paul G. Rogers Society for Global Health Research.

Judith Kasper, PhD, professor, HPM, is principal investigator in a national study that has been awarded $24 million over the next five years by the National Institute on Aging.

Joanne Katz, ScD, MSJoanne Katz, ScD, MS, professor, International Health, was inducted as an Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology Fellow, and she was awarded the American Academy of Ophthalmology Recognition of Outstanding Service to the Profession of Ophthalmology.

Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH ’87, dean of the Bloomberg School, was named a member of the Health IT Policy Committee by the Health and Human Services Department.

Thomas LaVeist, PhDThomas LaVeist, PhD, the William C. and Nancy F. Richardson Professor in Health Policy, HPM, was named the recipient of the 2008 Health Disparities Innovation Award.

Jonathan Links, PhD ’83, professor, EHS, has been awarded a five-year, $7.6 million grant from the CDC to study disaster preparedness risks and needs for vulnerable populations.

Luke Mullany, PhD ’05, MHS ’02, assistant professor, International Health, won a Johns Hopkins Center for Global Health Faculty Grant for his project “Human Rights Violations and HIV Related Outcomes among Men who have Sex with Men in Nepal.”

Jean Nachega, MD, PhD, MPH ’99, associate scientist, International Health, was elected a member of the Academy of Science of South Africa.

David Paige, MD, MPH, professor, PFRH, was award the Child Advocacy Award by the American Academy of Pediatrics, Maryland Chapter.

Ellen Silbergeld, PhD ’72Ellen Silbergeld, PhD ’72, professor, EHS, was named one of the “Women Taking the Lead to Save Our Planet” by Library of Congress Women’s History Month.

Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS ’73, dean emeritus and professor, Epidemiology and International Health, was awarded the 2009 Fries Prize for Improving Health during the 20th National Conference on Chronic Disease Prevention and Control: Cultivating Healthy Communities.

Pamela Surkan, PhD, assistant professor, International Health, won a Johns Hopkins Center for Global Health Faculty Grant for her project “Impact of iron and zinc supplementation on development in Nepalese children.”

James Tielsch, PhD, professor, International Health, with co-authors Luke Mullany, PhD ’05, MHS ’02, Joanne Katz, ScD, MS, and Steven C. LeClerq, MPH, had a paper shortlisted for Research Paper of the Year for the inaugural BMJ Group Awards. The paper, “Impact of newborn skin-cleansing with chlorhexidine on neonatal mortality in southern Nepal: A community-based, cluster-randomized trial,” was published in Pediatrics, 2007.

Magazine Goes for the Gold (Twice)Magazine Goes for the Gold (Twice)

Johns Hopkins Public Health won top honors in two categories of a national awards program sponsored by the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE). The magazine’s 2008 issues, which featured sex and health, illegal guns, backpack health workers in Burma and other topics, won the gold award for Special Interest Magazines in the CASE Circle of Excellence competition. The Spring 2008 special issue about sex and health won the grand gold award in the Periodical Special Issues category, which included 45 entries from university and college magazines across the U.S. “A great school of public health deserves a great magazine. And these awards are a wonderful endorsement of our efforts to translate the School’s important work,” says Paul B. Seifert, associate dean for External Affairs and the magazine’s managing editor. “Kudos goes to editor Brian W. Simpson, art director Robert Ollinger, and the entire magazine team.”

design element
Online Extras

How Do H1 and H5 Compare?

H1 versus H5

Bloomberg School’s respiratory virus expert, Ruth Karron, explains two opposite influenzas—and what to watch for with both.

Listen Now

Talk to Us

Amazed? Enthralled? Disappointed? We want to hear from you. Share your thoughts on articles and your ideas for new stories:

Download the PDF

Get a copy of all Departments articles in PDF format. Read stories offline, optimized for printing.

Download Now (6.4MB)