Skip Navigation

School Accolades

School Accolades

Miriam Alexander, MD, MPH ’89, director, General Preventive Medicine Residency, director, Mid-Atlantic Public Health Training Center, assistant professor, Population, Family and Reproductive Health, was named the Association for Prevention, Teaching and Research Outstanding Educator of the Year.

Karen Bandeen-RocheKaren Bandeen-Roche, PhD, the Frank Hurley and Catharine Dorrier Professor and Chair in Biostatistics, was elected president of the International Biometric Society’s Eastern North American Region (ENAR), which is the second largest statistical society in North America. She will serve as president-elect this year, president in 2012, and past president in 2013.

Sara BennettSara Bennett, PhD, associate professor, International Health, was appointed to the WHO Advisory Committee on Health Research and invited to chair the Wellcome Trust’s African Institutions Initiative Advisory Committee.

Chris Beyrer, MD, MPH ’90, professor, Epidemiology, was appointed to the newly established Scientific Advisory Board of the President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR). The board will advise the director of the Office of the U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator and the HIV/AIDS research agenda for PEPFAR.

Robert Wm. Blum, MD, PhD, MPH, the William H. Gates Sr. Professor and Chair of Population, Family and Reproductive Health, was the 2010 recipient of the Vince Hutchins Partnership Award, presented by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, located in Rockville, Md.

Jacquelyn CampbellThe Lethality Assessment Program (LAP), run by the Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence, was selected as one of four 2010 national recipients of the Celebrating Solutions Award given annually by the Mary Byron Project. Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy faculty members Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, MSN, professor, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing and Health Policy and Management (HPM), and Daniel Webster, ScD ’91, MPH, professor, HPM, developed the LAP along with law enforcement and members of service agencies.

Stephen GangeStephen Gange, PhD, professor and deputy chair, Epidemiology, was appointed for a four-year term as a member of the Department of Health and Human Services’ Panel on Antiretroviral Guidelines for Adults and Adolescents, a working group of the Office of AIDS Research Advisory Council.

Steven Goodman, MD, PhD, professor, Epidemiology, core faculty member, Center for Clinical Trials and the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics, was appointed early this year by the U.S. Government Accountability Office to the 15-member methodology committee of Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI). Established by the 2010 Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, PCORI helps to inform patients, clinicians, purchasers and policymakers of best results in health care prevention, diagnosis and treatment.

John Groopman, PhD, the Anna M. Baetjer Professor in Environmental Health and chair of Environmental Health Sciences (EHS), is the 2010 recipient of the American Association for Cancer Research’s Prevent Cancer Foundation Award for Excellence in Cancer Prevention Research. Groopman is honored for his discovery, validation and application of molecular biomarkers to probe the etiology of liver cancer and the means to prevent it in the economically developing world.

David Holtgrave, PhD, chair, Health, Behavior and Society, was named in POZ magazine’s 2010 list of the top 100 AIDS fighters, and he also received a Positive Leadership Award from the National Association of People with AIDS.

Thomas Kensler, PhD, professor, EHS, received the Friendship Award of Jiangsu Province, People’s Republic of China, in recognition of cancer prevention and sustained commitment to improving the health of residents of the Qidong area of Jiangsu Province.

Anthony LeungAnthony Leung, PhD, assistant professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (BMB), is the recipient of a Department of Defense Idea Award; the award is designed to promote new ideas that are still in the early stages of development and have the potential to yield highly impactful data and new avenues of investigation.

Dan Morhaim, MD, associate, HPM, was re-elected in November 2010 to his fifth four-year term in the Maryland Legislature’s House of Delegates, where he serves as Deputy Majority Leader and is the only physician in the Maryland General Assembly. He is again joined by Shannon Frattaroli, PhD ’99, MPH ’94, assistant professor, HPM, and Keshia Pollack, PhD ’06, MPH, assistant professor, HPM, who have been part-time staff for the past four years.

Larry Moulton, PhD ’87, professor, International Health, was awarded the Statistics Section Award for Academia at the November annual meeting of the APHA.

Daniel Scharfstein, ScD, professor, Biostatistics, was the 2010 recipient of the Distinguished Alum Award given annually by the Department of Biostatistics at the Harvard School of Public Health.

Dory StormsDory Storms, ScD, MPH, senior associate, International Health, is the winner of the 2010 Carl Taylor Lifetime Achievement Award from the APHA, International Health Section.

Moyses Szklo, MD, DrPH ’74, MPH ’72 professor, Epidemiology, was awarded the Physician’s Merit Medal in the Class of Comendador by the Brazilian president in Brasília, in December.

Barry Zirkin, PhD, professor, BMB, was named the 2011 recipient of the Distinguished Andrologist Award by the American Society of Andrology, which is given annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the progress of andrology.

Horizontal Rule

An Awards Trifecta

An international expert in the prevention of childhood mortality and illness, Robert Black, MD, MPH, received the 2010 Prince Mahidol Award in the field of public health. The award is presided over by Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn of Thailand. Black, the chair and Edgar Berman Professor of International Health, was also inducted into UCLA’s inaugural Hall of Fame in February with a Lifetime Achievement Award. And in March he received the Canada Gairdner Global Health Award, which recognizes individuals whose scientific work constitutes a discovery or a highly tangible sustained achievement toward improving our knowledge of and application to global health, especially in the developing world.

Horizontal Rule

Magazine Nominated for Press Award

In April, Johns Hopkins Public Health garnered its second Utne Independent Press Award nomination for science/technology coverage. Utne Reader’s awards “celebrate those independent and alternative periodicals that give readers a fresh take on their world,” says editor David Schimke. Winners will be announced May 18. The magazine also was nominated in 2010.

design element
Online Extras

Malaria History

Tobacco Fighter

Joanna Cohen, director of the Institute for Global Tobacco Control, explains how to make a great cigarette warning label.

Watch Now

Talk to Us

Amazed? Enthralled? Disappointed? We want to hear from you. Share your thoughts on articles and your ideas for new stories:

Download the PDF

Get a copy of all Departments articles in PDF format. Read stories offline, optimized for printing.

Download Now (2.5MB)