Skip Navigation




Lawrence J. Appel, MD, MPH ’89, professor, Medicine, Epidemiology and International Health (IH), and director of the Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology and Clinical Research, received the National Award for Career Achievement and Contribution to Clinical and Translational Science.

Four Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy (CIRP) faculty are among 20 injury prevention leaders honored by the CDC National Center for Injury Prevention and Control as part of its 20th anniversary celebration: Susan P. Baker, MPH ’68, professor, Health Policy and Management (HPM), and CIRP founding director; Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, MSN, Anna D. Wolf Chair and Professor in Nursing, Andrea Gielen, ScD ’89, ScM ’79, professor, Health, Behavior and Society (HBS), and CIRP director; and Ellen MacKenzie, PhD ’79, Fred and Julie Soper Professor and Chair, HPM, and past CIRP director.

The first recipient of the endowed Susan P. Baker and Stephen P. Teret Chair in Violence Prevention at the University of California at Davis is Garen J. Wintemute, MD, MPH ’83. Baker and Teret, MPH ’79, JD, professor, HPM, were mentors to Wintemute.

Abdullah Baqui, DrPH ’90, MPH ’85, professor, IH, was honored by the Bangladesh Medical Association of North America for
his outstanding contribution to clinical research in Bangladesh. He also received the 2012 CORE Group’s Dory Storms Child Survival Recognition Award.

Eric B. Bass, MD, MPH, professor, HPM, Epidemiology and Medicine, was named president-elect of the Society of General Internal Medicine.

Lee Bone, MPH ’77, RN, associate professor, HBS, is the inaugural recipient of the Crenson-Hertz Award for Community-Based Learning and Participatory Research.

Bol, a film co-produced by the Center for Communication Programs under the USAID-funded Pakistan Initiative for Mothers and Newborns project, won Best Film, Best Female Actor and Best New Talent at the 2012 Asian Film Festival in London.

Marie Diener-West, PhD ’84, Helen Abbey and Margaret Merrell Professor of Bio-statistics Education and chair of the MPH Program, was inducted as a Fellow of the Society for Clinical Trials.

The School’s Student Assembly presented the 2012 Golden Apple teaching awards to Homayoon Farzadegan, PhD, MS, professor, Epidemiology, and John McGready, PhD ’07, MS, assistant scientist, Biostatistics.

Mary Fox, PhD ’01, MPH, assistant professor, HPM, has been selected to serve on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Science Advisory Board Ad-hoc Perchlorate Advisory Panel.

Shannon Frattaroli, PhD ’99, MPH ’94, assistant professor, HPM, was appointed to the Baltimore City Board of Fire Commissioners. 

Robert H. Gilman, MD, professor, IH, was named an honorary professor at the Universidad Catolica in Santa Cruz, Bolivia.

Diane Griffin, MD, PhD, Alfred and Jill Sommer Professor and Chair, W. Harry Feinstone Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, was elected to the Council of the Institute of Medicine.

John Groopman, PhD, Anna M. Baetjer Professor of Environmental Health, Environmental Health Sciences (EHS), was appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Defense to the Defense Health Board, a federal advisory committee.

The Institute for Global Tobacco Control received the 2011 All-Star Award from Constant Contact, Inc., for exemplary communications results.

Rafael Irizarry, PhD, professor, Biostatistics, was chosen as the 2012 Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lecturer at the Harvard School of Public Health.

Ruth Karron, MD, professor, IH, was appointed to the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices of the CDC by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Secretary.

Jonathan Links, PhD ’83, professor, EHS, received the 2012 Ernest L. Stebbins Faculty Award.

Paul Locke, DrPH, MPH, JD, associate professor, EHS, was appointed to the National Research Council committee, Lessons Learned from the Fukushima Nuclear Accident for Improving Safety and Security of U.S. Nuclear Plants.

Jill Marsteller, PhD, MPP, associate professor, HPM, and Lainie Rutkow, PhD ’09, MPH ’05, JD, assistant professor, HPM, received Advising, Mentoring and Teaching Recognition Awards (AMTRA).

Cindy Parker, MD, MPH ’00, associate professor, EHS, was appointed to the Baltimore Commission on Sustainability. 

Keshia Pollack, PhD ’06, MPH, associate  professor, HPM, was awarded the Mid-Career Outstanding Service Award by the Injury Control Emergency Health Services Group. 

Elizabeth Selvin, PhD ’04, MPH, associate professor, Epidemiology, was elected a Fellow of the American Heart Association. She also received an AMTRA.

Moyses Szklo, MD, DrPH, MPH, professor, Epidemiology and Medicine, was elected to the Brazilian Academy of Sciences.

Roland J. Thorpe Jr., PhD, MS, associate scientist, HPM, has been named a Fellow of the Gerontological Society of America.

Zhibin Wang, PhD, assistant professor, EHS, was named to the 2012 Kimmel Scholar Program by the Sidney Kimmel Foundation for Cancer Research.

Daniel Webster, ScD ’91, professor, HPM, has been appointed to the Institute of Medicine’s Planning Committee for the Evidentiary Base for Violence Prevention Across the Lifespan and Around the World Workshop.

Albert Wu, MD, MPH, professor, HPM, and director of the Center for Health Services Outcomes Research, has been selected to serve on the National Quality Forum’s Patient-Reported Outcomes Expert Panel.

Horizontal Rule

A SOURCE for Service

Five JHSPH faculty recently were selected as SOURCE (Student Outreach Resource Center) Service-Learning Faculty Fellows and received awards to implement service-learning into academic courses: Daniela Lewy, MPH ’06, research associate, IH; Vanya Jones, PhD ’06, MPH, assistant professor, HBS; Roni Neff, PhD ’06, MS, assistant scientist, EHS; Beth Resnick, MPH ’95, CPH, assistant scientist, HPM; and Carey Borkoski, PhD, MA, instructor, HPM.

design element
Online Extras

Better Inflammation

Better Inflammation

Scientists want to tweak the body’s inflammatory response: keeping the good parts and shutting down the bad.

Watch Now

Make a Gift

Talk to Us

Amazed? Enthralled? Disappointed? We want to hear from you. Share your thoughts on articles and your ideas for new stories:

Download the PDF

Get a copy of all Departments articles in PDF format. Read stories offline, optimized for printing.

Download Now (1.3MB)