Skip Navigation


David Abrams, PhD, professor, Health, Behavior and Society (HBS), has been named a Fellow by the American Academy of Health Behavior.

Chris Beyrer, MD, MPH ’90, professor, Epidemiology, and director of the Center for Public Health and Human Rights, received an honorary doctorate in health science from Thailand’s Chiang Mai University. The degree was conferred by Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn.

Robert Black, MD, MPH, Edgar Berman Professor and chair, International Health, received the Raulin Award for Outstanding Contributions to Science from the International Society for Trace Element Research in Humans.

Terry R. Brown, PhD, professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, received the Distinguished Service Award from the American Society of Andrology.

Nilanjan Chatterjee, PhD, adjunct professor, Biostatistics, received the 2011 COPSS Presidents’ and Snedecor awards at the Joint Statistical Meetings.

Kevin Frick, PhD, MA, professor, Health Policy and Management (HPM), received the Distinguished Service Award from the Vision Care Section of the American Public Health Association (APHA).

Andrea Gielen, ScD ’89, ScM ’79, professor, HBS, and director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy, has been named the 2012 Research Laureate by the American Academy of Health Behavior.

Diane Griffin, MD, PhD, chair, W. Harry Feinstone Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, delivered the George Khoury lecture at NIH in December.

D. A. Henderson, MD, MPH ’60, Dean Emeritus, received a gold medal award from the National Institute of Social Sciences.

The HPTN 052 HIV prevention trial was named the 2011 Breakthrough of the Year by the journal Science. Two of the 13 HPTN study sites were led by Bloomberg School professors: David Celentano, ScD ’77, MHS ’75, the Charles Armstrong Chair in Epidemiology (Thailand site); andTaha Taha, MBBS, PhD ’92, MPH, professor, Epidemiology (Malawi site).

Intersexions, the HIV drama series co-produced by Johns Hopkins Health and Education in South Africa with USAID PEPFAR funding, received an International Peabody Award in April.

Alain Labrique, PhD ’07, MS, MHS ’99, assistant professor, International Health, was named a 2011 Top mHealth Innovator by the mHealth Alliance and the Rockefeller Foundation for developing the mCARE project with co-investigators Christian Coles, PhD ’00, MPH, MA, Luke Mullany, PhD ’05, MHS ’02, and Elizabeth Jordan, DNSc ’04, MSN.

Philip Leaf, PhD, professor, Mental Health, was presented with the Agus-Shehan Interfaith Leadership Award from the Central Maryland Ecumenical Council.

Orin Levine, PhD ’94, professor, International Health, was elected president of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene Committee on Global Health.

W. Henry Mosley, MD, MPH ’65, professor emeritus, Population, Family and Reproductive Health (PFRH), received the 2011 Carl Taylor Lifetime Achievement Award in Recognition of Outstanding Lifetime Achievement in International Health from APHA’s International Health Section.

Kate O’Brien, MD, MPH ’94, professor, International Health, and Brian Caffo, PhD, MS, associate professor, Biostatistics, each received a Presidential Early Career Award for Science and Engineering, the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on science and engineering professionals early in their research careers.

Elise T. Pas, PhD, MA, assistant scientist, Mental Health, received the Association of Positive Behavior Support’s Ted E. Carr Initial Researcher Award.

Keshia Pollack, PhD ’06, MPH, assistant professor, HPM, was one of 50 people statewide to be named by The Daily Record in 2011 as one of Maryland’s Very Important Professionals Under 40.

Ciro de Quadros, MD, adjunct associate professor, International Health, won a BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award for Development Cooperation.

David Sack, MD, professor, International Health, received the Esther Pohl Lovejoy, M.D. Leadership Award from the Oregon Health & Science University. He also shared with his brother R. Bradley Sack, MD, ScD ’68, MS, professor, International Health, the Donald Mackay Medal of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene. R. Bradley Sack also received the Richard T. Jones Distinguished Alumni Scientist Award from the Oregon Health & Science University. 

Freya Sonenstein, PhD, professor, PFRH, and director, Center for Adolescent Health, was presented with the Researcher of the Year Award by the Healthy Teen Network.

Peter C. van Dyck, MD, MPH, senior associate, PFRH, was awarded APHA’s 2011 Martha May Eliot Award.

Peter Winch, MD, MPH ’88, professor, International Health, received the 2011 Dory Storms Child Survival Recognition Award from the CORE Group.

Barry Zirkin, PhD, professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, was elected as Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Horizontal Rule

Cohen Honored with Bloomberg Professorship

Joanna Cohen, PhD, MHSc, a leader in the field of tobacco control and director of the School’s Institute for Global Tobacco Control, is the inaugural recipient of the Bloomberg Professorship in Disease Prevention. Celebrating Cohen’s achievement on April 12 were (from left) Michael J. Klag, dean of the Bloomberg School of Public Health; New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg; Cohen; and Ronald J. Daniels, Johns Hopkins University president.

design element
Online Extras

Zoom. Snap. Health.

Zoom. Snap. Health.

Enjoy some images from the Bloomberg School’s 2012 Global Health Photography Competition.


Make a Gift

Talk to Us

Amazed? Enthralled? Disappointed? We want to hear from you. Share your thoughts on articles and your ideas for new stories:

Download the PDF

Get a copy of all Departments articles in PDF format. Read stories offline, optimized for printing.

Download Now (1.6MB)