Skip Navigation




Lawrence J. Appel, MD, MPH ’89, professor, Medicine, Epidemiology and International Health (IH), and director of the Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology and Clinical Research, was elected to the Institute of Medicine.

Abdullah Baqui, MBBS, DrPH ’90, MPH ’85, professor, IH, received the 2012 CORE Group Dory Storms Child Survival Recognition Award, and was honored by the Bangladesh Medical Association of North America.

Dan Barnett, MD, MPH ’01, assistant professor, Environmental Health Sciences (EHS), received the International Critical Incident Stress Foundation’s Cofounders Award.

Colleen Barry, PhD, MPP, associate professor, Health Policy and Management (HPM), was elected to the Policy Council of the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management.

Chris Beyrer, MD, MPH ’90, professor, Epidemiology, and director of the Center for Public Health and Human Rights, delivered an invited plenary address, “The Global Epidemic of HIV among Men Who Have Sex with Men: Time to Act,” at the 20th Annual Conference on Retroviruses and Opportunistic Infections.

Robert Black, MD, MPH, Edgar Berman Professor and chair, IH, was appointed to Vitamin Angels’ Board of Directors.

Sara Bleich, PhD, associate professor, HPM, was recognized recently by the Obesity Society for best research manuscript in the journal Obesity.

Two projects co-produced by Johns Hopkins Health and Education in South Africa with USAID/PEPFAR funding—the Brothers For Life campaign and Intersexions, the HIV drama series—won Best Intervention awards at the AfricomNet Awards for Excellence in Health Communication.

Joanna Cohen, PhD, MHSc, Bloomberg Associate Professor of Disease Prevention in Health, Behavior and Society (HBS) and director of the Institute for Global Tobacco Control, was appointed to the Tobacco Products Scientific Advisory Committee, U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Karen Davis, PhD, the Eugene and Mildred Lipitz Professor in HPM, is the recipient of the 2013 TRUST Award from the Health Research and Educational Trust of the American Hospital Association.

William Eaton, PhD, the Sylvia and Harold Halpert Professor and chair, Mental Health, received the 2012 Harvard Award in Psychiatric Epidemiology and Biostatistics.

Mary A. Fox, PhD ’01, MPH, assistant professor, HPM, was appointed to the WHO and UNFAO Joint Expert Committee on Food Additives.

Robert H. Gilman, MD, professor, IH, was made an honorary professor at the Universidad Catolica in Santa Cruz, Bolivia.

Holly Grason, MA, associate professor, Population, Family and Reproductive Health (PFRH), received the Maternal and Child Health Section Award for Distinguished Service to the Profession from the American Public Health Association.

Diane Griffin, MD, PhD, Alfred and Jill Sommer Professor and Chair, W. Harry Feinstone Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology (MMI), was elected vice president of the National Academy of Sciences.

Ruth Karron, MD, professor, IH, and director of the Center for Immunization Research, was appointed to the CDC Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices.

Alain Labrique, PhD ’07, MHS ’99, MS, assistant professor, IH, was elected chair of the mHealth Technical Advisory Group at WHO.

Thomas LaVeist, PhD, William C. and Nancy F. Richardson Professor in Health Policy, HPM, was honored by the American Journal of Public Health with the 2012 Article of the Year award.

Paul A. Locke, DrPH ’98, MPH, JD, associate professor, EHS, was appointed to the Veterans’ Advisory Board on Dose Reconstruction.

Thomas A. Louis, PhD, professor, Biostatistics, was named associate director for research and methodology, and chief scientist with the U.S. Census Bureau.

Vicente Navarro, MD, DrPH ’68, PhD, DMSA, professor, HPM, received a Doctor Honoris Causa from Lleida University of Catalonia in Spain.

Ana Navas-Acien, MD, MPH, PhD ’05, associate professor, EHS, was appointed to the National Academy of Sciences Committee on Inorganic Arsenic.

Sandra Newman, PhD, MUP, professor, HPM, Institute for Policy Studies, was appointed to the U.S. Census Bureau National Advisory Committee on Racial, Ethnic, and Other Populations.

Douglas Norris, PhD, MS, associate professor, MMI, is president-elect of the Society for Vector Ecology.

Kate O’Brien, MD, MPH ’94, professor, IH, was appointed to the WHO Strategic Advisory Group of Experts (SAGE) on Immunizations.

Felix E. Rivera-Mariani, PhD, postdoctoral student, EHS, received a 2012 LUSH Young Researcher Award for alternative research in toxicology.

Debra Roter, DrPH ’77, MPH ’75, MS, professor, HBS, was named a University Distinguished Service Professor.

Lester Salamon, PhD, professor, HPM, and Political Science, received the Aaron Wildavsky Enduring Contribution Award from the American Political Science Association for his book, Partners in Public Service: Government-Nonprofit Relations in the Modern Welfare State.

Steven L. Salzberg, PhD, professor, Biostatistics, Medicine, and Computer Science, won the 2013 Benjamin Franklin Award for Promoting Open Access in the Life Sciences.

Ellen Silbergeld, PhD ’72, professor, EHS, was named to the advisory board of the Zorig Foundation in Mongolia.

Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS ’73, University Distinguished Service Professor, Ophthalmology, Epidemiology, IH, and dean emeritus of the Bloomberg School, was named a Dan David Laureate.

Martin Stephens, PhD, senior research associate, EHS, Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing, received the Society of Toxicology Enhancement of Animal Welfare Award.

Stephen Teret, JD, MPH ’79, professor, HPM, and director, Center for Law and the Public’s Health, received the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission Chairman’s Commendation Circle Award; and presented the Dean’s Distinguished Lecture at the University of Colorado School of Medicine.

Michael Trush, PhD, MS, professor, EHS, was appointed to the CDC Safety and Occupational Health Study Section.

Cheri Wilson, MHS ’10, MA, research associate, HPM, was appointed co-chair of the Public Policy and Advocacy Committee of the National Association of Health Services Executives and elected an at-large member of the Steering Committee of the American Medical Association Commission to End Health Care Disparities.

Horizontal Rule

Dean Honored with Bruce Award

Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH ’87, dean of the Bloomberg School, received the 2013 James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine from the American College of Physicians. The award is named in honor of the national medical organization’s late former leader. Dean Klag was selected for his work and research in the prevention of cardiovascular and kidney disease.

design element
Online Extras
Pictures of Health

Pictures of Health

Deworming in Tajikistan. Teaching malaria in Senegal. See these and other photos selected as winners in the Center for Global Health photo contest.

Learn More

Rising To the Challenge

Talk to Us

Amazed? Enthralled? Disappointed? We want to hear from you. Share your thoughts on articles and your ideas for new stories:

Download the PDF

Get a copy of all Departments articles in PDF format. Read stories offline, optimized for printing.

Download Now (1.2MB)