Skip Navigation




David B. Abrams, PhD, professor, Health, Behavior and Society (HBS), and executive director, the Schroeder Institute for Tobacco Research and Policy Studies, was awarded the 2014 American Academy of Health Behavior (AAHB) Research Laureate Award, which honors an individual who has made a significant and enduring contribution to health behavior research.

Robert Black, MD, MPH, professor, International Health (IH), was awarded the Dr. C. Gopalan Oration Gold Medal from the Nutrition Society of India for outstanding contributions in the field of nutritional sciences. Sight and Life also presented him with its Annual Nutrition Leadership Award for two landmark Lancet nutrition series he led.

Patrick N. Breysse, PhD, ’80, ’85, professor, Environmental Health Sciences (EHS), was appointed to the Children’s Health Protection Advisory Committee of the U.S. EPA.

Parul Christian, DrPH ’96, MPH ’92, professor, IH, was accepted into the Dannon 2014 International Academic Mid-Career Nutrition Leadership Institute for outstanding nutritional scientists of global stature.

Valeria Culotta, PhD, professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, received the 2014 David Danks Award for Copper in Biology and Medicine.

Karen Davis, PhD, the Eugene and Mildred Lipitz Professor in Health Policy and Management (HPM), has been asked to serve on U.S. Senator Ben Cardin’s Health Advisory Group.

Lilly Engineer, MD, DrPH ’08, MHA, associate director, DrPH program in Health Care Management and Leadership, and Certificate in Quality, Patient Safety and Outcomes Research, HPM, and assistant professor, ACCM, JHSOM and HPM, was selected as a Baldrige Performance Excellence Award examiner by the Maryland Performance Excellence Foundation.

Fannie Fonseca-Becker, DrPH ’00, associate scientist, HBS, received the Henry Montes Presidential Award for leadership in improving the health of Latinos in the U.S., from the Latino Caucus for Public Health of the American Public Health Association.

Debra Furr-Holden, PhD ’99, associate professor, Mental Health (MH), received the Joseph Cochin award.

Andrea Gielen, ScD ’89, ScM ’79, professor, HBS, and director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy, received the 2013 American Public Health Association Award for Excellence.

Diane Griffin, MD, PhD, professor and  chair, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology (MMI), received the Rudolf Virchow Medal and delivered an honorary lecture at the University of Wurzburg, Germany.

The Center for Communication Programs was among a group of partners honored when United Against Malaria was named Global Campaign of the Year at the 2014 PRWeek Awards ceremony. CCP received the 2013 Community Partners Award from the Family League for its role in the B’more for Healthy Babies Initiative. Tanzania Capacity and Communication Project (TCCP) received the Mobile Health at Scale award from the USAID/Tanzania Health Team.

David Jernigan, PhD, associate professor (HBS) and director of the Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth, was selected to deliver the Basil Hetzel Oration at the Public Health Association of Australia’s 43rd Annual Conference in Perth, Western Australia, in September 2014.

Philip Jordan, PhD, assistant professor, BMB, received the Ho-Ching Yang Memorial Fund award.

Alain Labrique, PhD ’07, MHS ’99, MS, associate professor, IH, was appointed to the WHO eHealth Technical Advisory Group.

Thomas A. LaVeist, PhD, the William C. and Nancy F. Richardson Professor in HPM and founding director of the Hopkins Center for Health Disparities Solutions, will receive the 2014 ICON Award from Associated Black Charities in June

Robert S. Lawrence, MD, Center for a Livable Future Professor in EHS, received a 2014 Johns Hopkins Alumni Association Heritage Award.

Philip Leaf, PhD, professor, MH, was voted the Baltimorphosis Adult Nominee Winner.

Elizabeth J. Letourneau, PhD, associate professor, MH, has been elected president of the Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers. 

Paul A. Locke, DrPH ’98, MPH, JD, associate professor, EHS, was appointed by Lewis & Clark’s Northwestern School of Law as its first Distinguished Visiting Professor of Animal Law and Science.

Kunihiro Matsushita, MD, PhD, assistant scientist, Epidemiology, received the Sandra A. Daugherty Award for Excellence in Cardiovascular Disease or Hypertension Epidemiology from the American Heart Association, and the Early Career Best Science Award for Abstract Poster Presentation from the American Heart Association.

Ana Navas-Acien, MD, PhD ’05, associate professor, EHS, was invited to be editor-in-chief of the new journal Current Environmental Health Reports.

Kate O’Brien, MD, MPH ’94, professor, IH, was selected as the Robert Austrian Lecturer at the next International Symposium on Pneumococci and Pneumococcal Diseases in Hyderabad, India.

Henry B. Perry, MD, PhD ’76, MPH ’71, senior associate, IH, received the Ronald McDonald House Charities 2013 Medical Awards of Excellence, which carries with it a gift of $100,000 to the nonprofit group Perry founded Curamericas Global.

Elizabeth Selvin, PhD ’04, MPH, associate professor, Epidemiology, received the Harry Keen Memorial Award from the International Diabetes Epidemiology Group of the International Diabetes Federation and delivered the Harry Keen Memorial Award lecture in Melbourne, Australia.

A. Richey Sharrett, MD, DrPH ’79, adjunct professor, Epidemiology, received the Council on Lifestyle and Cardiometabolic Health’s Epidemiology and Prevention Mentoring Award.

Donald Steinwachs, PhD ’73, professor, HPM, was appointed to serve on the Department of Veterans Affairs National Research Advisory Council.  

Elizabeth Stuart, PhD, associate professor, MH, was named to a new National Academy of Sciences panel, Research Methodologies and Statistical Approaches to Understanding Driver Fatigue Factors in Motor Carrier Safety and Driver Health.

Moyses Szklo, MD, MPH ’73, DrPH ’74, professor, Epidemiology, received the Robert S. Gordon lectureship award from NIH for his contributions to cardiovascular research and for training a generation of epidemiologists.

Wietse Tol, PhD, assistant professor, MH, was named program director of the Peter C. Alderman Foundation.

horizontal rule

A Sabin for Santosham

Mathuram Santosham, MD, MPH ’75, professor, International Health, was awarded the 2014 Sabin Gold Medal award for his pioneering role in the prevention of deadly Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) diseases, including pediatric bacterial meningitis and pneumonia. Santosham’s leadership in conducting groundbreaking research, vaccine efficacy trials and advocacy to prioritize Hib vaccines spans more than 40 years and has saved millions of children’s lives worldwide.

design element
Online Extras
Still Waters

Still Waters

This gallery by photojournalist Kuni Takahashi illustrates key preventative measures initiated by Bloomberg Philanthropies in Bangladesh where 12,000 children drown annually.

View Gallery

Rising To the Challenge

Talk to Us

Amazed? Enthralled? Disappointed? We want to hear from you. Share your thoughts on articles and your ideas for new stories:

Download the PDF

Get a copy of all Departments articles in PDF format. Read stories offline, optimized for printing.

Download Now (1.2MB)